Tutorial Discussion

 

I have decided to take my concept idea of voyageur forward as feel it is the strongest visually and narratively. Visually I am thinking about knots using ropes using the technique of macrame to create some interest samples. Narratively I am looking at the contrast between two types of voyages, calm blissful holiday sailing trips and the dangerous voyages taken by immigrants trying to find safety. I am thinking of using more clean and crisp white rope for the holiday theme look and more faded distressed rope for the immigrant voyage look.

knots

 

After discussing with my tutor Rachael, I am planning on having two small sketchbooks suggesting the narrative of my two contrasting ideas, noting sights and smells that would be experienced on these voyages. Then having a main big sketchbook noting down all of my design ideas and techniques and sample ideas.

 

 

Leave a Reply

