Todays Exhibition Research

I feel today has been a successful and productive day as I have visited two exhibitions on immigration and feel like I have a much better understanding of the feelings and the hardship they have been through.

I am on track with my research and plan on visiting the Biscuit Factory art gallery tomorrow, in order to get Primary photos of paintings and visuals that could inspire my project, to go along side todays more analytical and conceptual research.

Exhibition 1: Hatton Gallery Exhibition-Home and Belonging

Home and Belonging is an exhibition working with refugees and asylum seekers who have settled in the North East. These refugees are given an opportunity to share their stories of migration and hardship through a series of films, which help create awareness around the issue.

Film 1: Britain is Great- By Azin Azadeh

This film is a narrative of how over Azin’s 40 years of living in the Uk, peoples interpretations and opinions on immigration have changed.

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 11.17.46.png

 

‘Since I have lived in this country, the way foreigners have been perceived has gone through many changes… people have labelled me rich, an alien, exotic, an oriental… then later feared and regarded as a terrorist… after 911 there was a visible increase in this labelling’

 

 Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 11.13.20.png

‘The active support of people in the North-East make me feel strong and positive’

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 11.14.45

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 11.11.45.png

 ‘I hope following the leaving of Europe, this doesn’t stir up problems and cause hatred towards ethnic minorities’

 

Film 2: Walk of Sanctuary- By Abraham Eiluorior

Abraham Eiluorior is originally from Nigeria and is currently seeking asylum. Abraham’s 14-mile coastal walk from Sunderland to North Tyneside is a symbolic homage to those seeking sanctuary in the UK and the long and dangerous journey people take when fleeing war and persecution.

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 11.38.22.png

‘I was worried when I came I wouldn’t know anyone, but on coming, I feel part of the community’

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 11.32.13.png

 

‘I believe this walk is a way of giving back to the community that was welcoming to me’

 ‘I had a belief that things were going to get better for me’

 ‘But I still have to live with fear of being returned to my country’

Film 3- Waterfalls of Love and Kindness by Sam Walker

Sam fled with his family from Sri Lanka to the UK after the bloody civil war in 2009 yet abuse continued with torture from the police.

 Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 11.30.12.png

He created a poem called, ‘waterfalls of love and kindness’ which responds to his family’s search for freedom and humanity.

Though Sam and his family now feel safer, he describes himself as still feeling distant from the UK and a sense of not completely belonging, his image of being happy when he came to the UK is ‘…not as strong’ as he thought it would be.

Film 4- Me and My Sisters

 

A story about a woman called Ruksana, who had to flee her country and was separated from her sisters. She speaks about how her and her sisters had a very strong bond and they were the closest people to her, but now they are separated.

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 11.29.04Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 11.28.45

Tyneside Cinema Exhibition-Distant Neighbours

Distant Neighbours is a series of films, filmed on location in Al Zaatari refugee camp in Jordan by Lucy Wood. She interviews farmers from the camps and their experiences. She highlights how migrants don’t just face dangers at home but also on their journey to try and find safety.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I want to take this information I have learnt today and create visual responses that highlight these ideas, as I feel I need to better understand the thoughts and feelings of migrants to find the best way to communicate these feelings through clothing.

Leave a Reply

