Self Directed Study Day- The Biscuit Factory Art Gallery

I went to The Biscuit Factory to find inspiration for texture, colour and shape for my project. I felt this would be useful as I have previously visited lots of galleries that have give me lots of useful contextual information on the immigration crisis, but not so much visual imagery.

I particularly liked a textiles artist who was exhibiting called Dianne Swift. She uses layers of stitches, creating texture and mixing the colours on the surface of cloth creating a beautifully intertwined surface. I feel I could create samples using a similar technique with the sea colours from my own project, creating a rough sailing rope/net like texture.

IMG_6426IMG_6411

Leave a Reply

