Rope Samples- Bank Holiday Weekend Work

IMG_0622IMG_0628IMG_0633IMG_0636IMG_0665IMG_0666IMG_0667IMG_0671I perviously created a pure white macrame sample with rope for my holiday voyage look, so today I wanted to create a contrasting rope for my migrant look. I stained the migrant sample with tea bags to make it look old, and frayed the edges to give a weathered effect, I then sprayed it with a red paint aerosol can to suggest blood stains which may occur if the migrants are injured on there dangerous voyage to try and find safety. I feel that I really want to get a narrative across in my designs as well as a contrast to give meaning and depth, so I feel these techniques work really well for this and I am definitely considering using these techniques for my final garments. I want to place these samples on a mannequin to get a better idea of how this could work, maybe as a belt, a back detail or a strap.

Leave a Reply

