Putting Up My Show

When putting up my show at first it was a challenge fitting all my work into the space, without it looking too busy and making sure nothing overpowered the others making sure they fitted well together. I solved the problem of space by overlapping my work, i used invisible fishing wire so that it wouldn’t distract from the work.

In my plan I had the fishing net in-between my two looks dividing them, but when I came to do my show I realised there wasn’t really enough space to do this. So instead I draped the fishing net around the bottom of the clothing, emphasising the clothing more as this should be the main focus. I also collected some knotted rope, net and seaweed from Alnmouth beach and put this under my show to emphasise my nautical theme and to tie in with the macrame rope details in my garments.

I created a shelf to put my sketchbooks  and rope samples on, allowing them to be easily seen, encouraging people to take them off the shelf to look at and study further.

I moved the net off the shelf allowing more room for photos and put it around the mannequin emphasising the clothing further.

IMG_0774

Leave a Reply

